Excellence in Journalism 2016 | New Orleans

RTDNA/RTDNF honor Carole Simpson, Dan Shelley, and Noukla Ruble at EIJ13

By The EIJ News

Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'my_img_caption_shortcode_filter' not found or invalid function name in /home/spjnetwo/public_html/eijnews/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 235

The Radio Television Digital News Association and Foundation (RTDNA/RTDNF) presented three awards at Saturday’s EIJ13 opening business session.

TNDA Chairman Vince Duffy and Carole Simpson
RTDNF Chairman Vince Duffy and Carole Simpson

Carole Simpson, former ABC News Anchor and Mentor in Residence at Emerson College, received the Barney Oldfield Distinguished Service Award for service to the Radio Television Digital News Foundation. The award goes annually to an individual who has contributed to the growth of the foundation. Col. Barney Oldfield, USAF (Ret.) was the founder of RTDNF.

  Dan Shelly and RTDNA Chairman Vince Duffy

Dan Shelley and RTDNA Chairman Vince Duffy

RTDNA presented its Bob Priddy Award to RTDNA board member Dan Shelley. The award is presented annually to board members who exemplify former board member Bob Priddy’s 27 years of distinguished and consistent service to RTDNA.


Noukla Ruble and RTDNA Chairman Vincent Duffy
Noukla Ruble and RTDNA Chairman Vincent Duffy

The third honor of the day went to Noukla Ruble, who received the Rob Downey Citation for service to the board of directors. The award is named for the first executive secretary of RTDNA.

During the session, candidates were nominated for RTDNA’s board of directors. You can see the full slate of candidates here. Winners will be announced at the closing business session at 3:30 p.m. on Monday.